# STUDENT BAR ASSOCIATION OF THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAI'I AT MĀNOA

### William S. Richardson School of Law 2515 Dole Street Honolulu, Hawai'i 96822

#### RESOLUTION NO. 13 – 2

## CREATION OF THE LAW STUDENT GOVERNMENT SENATE AND LAW STUDENT GOVERNMENT EXECUTIVE BOARD

#### BE IT ENACTED BY THE STUDENT BAR ASSOCIATION:

WHEREAS, President Justine Herrera convened a Constitutional Convention on behalf of the members of the Student Bar Association (SBA) held on January 7, 2013 through January 13, 2013; and,

WHEREAS, 3L Representative Jarett Keohokalole served as Chair of the Convention; and,

WHEREAS, Professor Virginia Hench administered the oath of office to all convention delegates; and,

WHEREAS, UH Regent Jeffrey Acido, Dean Avi Soifer, Mayor Kirk Caldwell, and Honorable Representative Colleen Hanabusa were key note speakers at the Convention; and.

WHEREAS, thirty (30) guests, dignitaries, and alumni were in attendance, including Justice Sabrina McKenna and U.S. Attorney Florence Nakakuni; and,

WHEREAS, delegates were elected from the 1L, 2L, 3L, Part-Time Program, Ulu Lehua Scholars Program, and the LL.M. Program and were joined by a support staff of students for a total of twenty-eight (28) student participants; and,

WHEREAS, there were six committees—Membership & Elections, Executive & Senate, Judiciary & Finance, Purpose, Procedure, and Authority, Chairs' Caucus, and Style; and,

WHEREAS, the Convention adopted a new Constitution on January 13, 2013; and,

Whereas, the new Constitution was submitted to the membership of the SBA for ratification and the ballot question stated, "Shall the Constitution adopted

by the Student Bar Association ("SBA") Constitutional Convention of 2013 be ratified and take effect immediately, with a transition of elected officers to be completed by 12pm, January 1, 2014?"; and,

WHEREAS, the electronic ballot vote closed at 12:00 p.m. on April 10, 2013; and,

WHEREAS, during the electronic ballot vote a total of three hundred sixty-two students (362) students were then enrolled in the William S. Richardson School of Law and were then members of the SBA; and,

WHEREAS, a total of two hundred (200) SBA members voted, of which one hundred fifty (150) SBA members voted "Yes" to the ballot in favor of ratifying the SBA Constitution 2013; and,

WHEREAS, the votes were counted by A. Makana Paris, as Chair of the Constitutional Convention Organizing Committee and as Chair of the Constitutional Ratification Committee; and,

WHEREAS, and the counting of the votes was witnessed by Adam Mackie, Sam King, Bianca Isaki, and Keone Nakoa; and,

WHEREAS, the voter eligibility was confirmed through verifying student identification numbers by Interim Associate Dean for Student Services Cynthia Quinn and staff; and,

WHEREAS, the ratification of the SBA Constitution 2013 was announced to the members of the SBA on the afternoon of April 10, 2013; and,

WHEREAS, this SBA Board was thereafter elected by the members of the SBA and election results were announced on April 25, 2013; and,

WHEREAS, this SBA Board is tasked with the transition of elected officers under the SBA Constitution 2011 to those under the SBA Constitution 2013 by 12 pm, January 1, 2014; and,

WHEREAS, the three branches of the Law Student Government (LSG) under SBA Constitution 2013 are the Executive Board, Senate, and Judiciary; and,

WHEREAS, the LSG Judiciary was established by the SBA Board on May 22nd, 2013; and,

BE IT RESOLVED THAT, the LSG Senate is created subject to the SBA Board as the final interpreter of the SBA Constitution until January 1, 2014; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the 1L, 2L, 3L, LL.M., and Ulu Lehua Scholars Program Representatives to the SBA Board will serve as Senators in the LSG Senate and will continue as Senators; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the Ulu Lehua Scholars Program has duly elected a second Senator that will serve in the LSG Senate; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the 1L Part-Time, 2L Part-Time, 3L Part-Time, and 4L Part-Time Representatives will select from their ranks three persons to serve as Senators representing the Part-Time program in the LSG Senate and those three persons will continue as Senators in accordance with Article VI of the SBA Constitution 2013; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the LSG Executive Branch is created subject to the SBA Board as the final interpreter of the SBA Constitution until 12 pm, January 1, 2014; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the current SBA Board President, Treasurer, and Secretary will serve on the LSG Executive Branch in their respective positions until 12 pm, January 1, 2014; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the current Vice-President will serve as the Chair of the LSG Senate and as the Vice-President of the LSG Executive Branch until 12 pm, January 1, 2014; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, a special election will be held this Fall 2013 for the positions of LSG President, Treasurer, and Secretary to start 12 pm, January 1, 2014 and serve till the end of the Fall 2014; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT, the current Vice-President will advise the elections committee that will conduct the special election this Fall and will remain eligible to run for office; and,

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED THAT, this resolution shall be submitted to the membership for ratification by referendum.

The undersigned hereby certifies that the foregoing Resolution was duly adopted on October 7th, 2013.

Keone Nakoa, President kjnakoa@hawaii.edu